How to transition smoothly out of an internship?

Hi all, I’m posting under a pseudonym to cover my tracks so hope that doesn’t break any forum rules! Also sorry in advance for the long post.

I have been interning at a small firm for the last 4-5 months as a barely paid intern, $500 a month - $460 after tax. There are only three of us in the office full time which consists of my boss, a graphic designer, myself and he just took on a part time unpaid intern. What was sold to me as a great ID learning experience has in fact turned out to be a complete waste of time with my only tasks being an office assistant and the odd graphic design job, the boss is basically running a design firm as a hobby at the expense of everyone he brings on board with the bulk of his staff over the years being unpaid interns. I have been trying to get out for months but my portfolio wasn’t strong enough until I bumped up my skill level in my own time. I deserved my crappy situation but now I don’t.

I was offered a great paid internship at a large design firm, they are known for treating their interns well and even if it doesn’t lead to a full-time gig you leave with a great body of professional work. I am excited and proud of myself to be given this great opportunity.

My boss was not happy after I informed him last Tuesday I was leaving and spent half an hour telling me how bad I was at being his office assistant and then when I asked if he thought I was so bad why didn’t he just let me go, he started to back track and said I should work two weeks notice. He almost burnt his own bridge but the following day apologised for his over reaction. That Thursday he went on vacation for two weeks leaving his only paid member of staff, myself and an unpaid part time intern to run the show in his absence. My new company want me to start tomorrow however my boss seems to be under the impression I will there when he gets back next week.