an Architecture/Interior firm exploring Product Development

I have been contacted by an architecture/interior firm that is interested in expanding their design efforts into product development. They have successfully launched a small iPad accessory with the assistance of an outside engineer.

My dilemma: I am only a junior level designer, but have been working in a field that works mainly with aluminum extrusion. Not since my internship 2.5 years ago, have I worked with complex injection molded parts. I did mostly design research. I didn’t have much exposure to plastics selection process.

They have thrown a couple of freelance projects my way. I am assuming those are to see what I can do for them.

My question, What deliverables would you recommend I should present on a product revamp? I was given virtually no constraints, I am only limited to an hourly rate and a month.

So far I figure I would do some preliminary market research, materials research, and do a artifact/user model to identify where a user could potentially find issues with the product.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, and feel free to ask any questions.

Thank you so much!

4-week project

1. Kickoff meeting - Confirm goals/objectives and deliverables, obtain client knowledge about the product/project

2. Primary and secondary research - Additional knowledge that the client did not provide

3. Concept development - Generate and illustrate 8-12 concepts

4. Concept review meeting - Narrow to 2-3 concepts

5. Concept refinement - Refine and illustrate 2-3 concepts

#5 is optional. For good clients I would do it, for all others I would not. It is a judgement call.

Thank you very much!

I am pretty sure I know which company you are talking about and what product they launched ( I am from the same area as you I believe). I wish you the best of luck and hope you can develop their product line. What they currently have is definitely in need of some design refinement.