Travelling for interviews.

So in my quest to escape the Midwest over the last six months I have been applying for design jobs all over the country. Some of these applications have led to phone interviews, which in turn have sometimes led to invitations for me to come visit a potential employer. Unfortunately, I am a young designer without a lot of money on hand and traveling halfway across North America on short notice can be quite pricey. I also have a limited amount of vacation time where I currently work. For these reasons I am always nervous about what to expect when a potential employer wants me to come see them.

Should these companies be assisting me in any way financially in order to come visit them? The people around me that I have talked to have told me that when they have interviewed at distant companies in the past, those companies paid for their trip. Is that a trend that is dying? Most of the people I have talked to about this are older and not always in a design related industry.

Should I even ask about this during my conversation with a potential employer? I feel like I may have turned off some good prospects because I brought this up. I usually only ask once they mention wanting me to come to their offices.

If the company isn’t willing to pay for the trip, I find myself having to make some tough cost benefit decisions about whether or not I really want to work for a given company. I would love to leave the Midwest and work in New York or Los Angeles, but the cost of the process of getting those jobs seems prohibitive.

Is this an unreasonable request to make of a potential employer?

I suppose you can always ask, but prepare for a No answer. Sometimes you need to find a way to commit to something, and other times you need to make a reasonable decision.

Besides, what’s wrong with the Midwest? I guarantee its cheaper here…