Design intern in the UK? Read this

As many things in the UK become so USA centric these days, it’s easy to assume that many of our laws are the same.

They are not. Urban outfitters got into a pickle recently because they were offering unpaid internships.

Why? Unpaid internships are actually illegal in the UK, unless they are for a charity or part of an educational course. If you ‘work’ anywhere then you are entitled to the national minimum wage.

HMRC has announced a crackdown on firms which ‘employ’ unpaid interns.

I for one, welcome this. The internship didn’t exist when I graduated. I was able to take a minimum wage design assistant job. I feel that unpaid interships discriminate against graduates who do not have wealthy parents to support them.

I agree with you Jessica. With the exception that I feel that it exploits all young designers under the outdated guise of “mentoring”.

The company benefits financially, if only in a small way, by the work of these “juniors”, and should pay them for their efforts.

Were this a true old-world “apprenticeship”, where the employer provides education in the craft, food, and lodging without pay, in exchange for “work” it would be different.

Exchange being the keyword.

I’m not sure of the legalities, not my area, but I’ve never worked somewhere where it is acceptable for interns not to be compensated in some form, be it pay or ensuring they got college credits.

Ironically most colleges will not allow you to get credits for an internship you got paid for… and if you do get credits for that unpaid internships, the school will typically charge you for the credits as if it was a class. So you didn’t get paid, the school didn’t necessarily do anything other than mark down that you interned, and you still have to pay the school. Interesting…