is the ID grass greener? (aka reality check)

hello all,

i’ve been teetering on the edge of switching careers for too long and need to figure this out.

i have been wishing i had majored in ID instead of Architecture for years and it’s reached a head (i graduated 10 years ago).

my current work life is spent drafting at a computer - and that’s pretty much it. i’m really confident i would love doing an Associate degree program for ID - and love product design, environments and human factor research, etc. i’d be better suited to ID vs Arch and have just been trying to make it work for years. It isn’t - pretty much over architecture (have worked in big and small firms, public residential, retail, healthcare, etc.).

BUT! is the grass greener or no? i don’t know anyone in ID to ask about the realities of the field. will i spend tons of cash and attend school for 2 years only to end up spending day after day locked to my computer monitor? as in, no drawing, never getting out there in the world and trying out products, etc.? cause i already get paid to do that. hoping to hear something affirming:)

thanksss,
meg

I suppose the answer is “it depends”.

Do some people sit at a monitor and spend most of their day pumping CAD or some other product related deliverables? Yes.

Could you probably find a job in architecture that was more hands on then your current employer? Yes.

There are always going to be new opportunities out there. If you think the problem is in your field, then I’d say make the switch. But I know plenty of happily employed architects, so maybe you just haven’t found an employer that is the right fit? You say you’ve been at a lot of firms, so it sounds like you know the answer to that already but I figured I’d point it out again.

If you love design then go for it. You might be able to get a masters in ID, not sure if there are any associate level programs around.

thank you for your reply - much appreciated!