ME (not looking to convert to ID)- Seeking job advice in NYC

Hey guys,

As the title implies, I am a Mechanical Engineer looking for assistance finding a job in the New York City area. Unlike many of the previous ME’s posts, I am not looking to convert to an Industrial Design career path.

My long term girlfriend and now fiancee was recently accepted to NYU’s Social Work Graduate Program. In order to support her life long dream, I agreed to do everything in my power to get us to NYC and support her while she goes back to school. That being said, I am having an extremely hard time getting companies to notice me in New York.

As a little background on myself:
I am the quintessential Mechanical Engineer (half stubborn, quality-minded German, half ingenuity, stubborn Southern) . I grew up in a family of 6 kids where I constantly needed to take apart, modify, and rebuild everything electrical and mechanical (lawn mower, cars, computers, toys, appliances, tv’s, furnaces, plumbing, etc. ). You name it, I’ve probably rebuilt it or can tell you how to make it better. In order to pay for college, I held numerous internships, co-ops, and full time jobs in everything from consumer products, utilities, to small and large scale manufacturing. In 2008 I graduated from Michigan State University with a BS in Mechanical Engineering and promptly moved down to Ohio and started work with Honda. For the last 3 years I have been designing everything from floor mats, to roof rack, to body kits for the Honda and Acura vehicles. I also design build and operate test fixtures, jigs, and prototypes from scratch in order to test my design’s durability and help convey concepts. (sorry I can’t divulge much more due to confidentiality agreements).