from architect to industrial designer...?

hi,

last year i graduated with a bachelor’s degree in architectural studies. i’ve worked in an architectural firm for a few months, but now i want to make a change in my path and would love to work for an industrial design firm. the thing is, i have no education background in industrial design (and honestly can’t afford school again for a while), could an ID firm even be interested in hiring me? i’ve been interested in ID for a while and am always curious and eager to learn… any advice?

thanks

disclaimer- take everytihng i say with a pinch of salt

if your really keen to do it, get a portfolio of stuff youve worked on (architectural stuff as well) and see if you can get in to a firm as a low paying lacky.

I think the main problem is that your not going to have a very good working knowledge of the manufacturing/production side of design, so if you can get in to a firm with your design skills (which i imagine are fairly good after an architecture course) then you should hopefully be able to pick up the rest through work.

I’m with remus. Just start doing it (in a conceptual, portfolio building sense) and apply for some entry level positions. You may find you have certain skills that some employers will want to round out their team with your specific background.

once you leave the architecture world… dont expect to get back in it… i’m in that boat right now…grrrr

remus and yo: thank you for your comments… i was kind of nervous about “changing” careers… but i’m now a little more confident about applying to an industrial design firm. thanks again for your advice :slight_smile:

cryzko: can you be more specific, what do you mean i wouldn’t be able to get back into the architecture world? … i mean, i’m interested in both ID and Architecture, but don’t necessarily want to be shut off from architecture entirely, and i would like to come back to it eventually.