industrial design salary index for china - any idea?

hi colleagues,

does anybody have a rough salary index for the position of an industrial designer working in shanghai/china? i have been offered a job, and now there is question of paying salary.
is it correct that international designers generally earn lot more in china than chinese designers? i will put myself between these two levels.
i haven`t even a rough idea what salary level i will estimate by now.
does anybody share their experience with me?
by the way i have about 5 years experience in id.

yawl

Is the company you’re negotiating with a Chinese company or a multi-national company with a division in China? That will affect the salary structure.

A Chinese company (with only a few exceptions like Haier and Lenovo) will be paying a LOT less than the typical international scale. They will probably be bench-marking against salaries for Chinese designers. It will be a tough negotiation to get a decent salary.

If it’s a multi-national corporation it will be easier to negotiate a higher salary.

Of course it’s generally cheaper to live in China, but if the job is in Shanghai that’s not the case. It’s the New York of China.

I work for a Chinese company, but I’m based in the US, so I’m being paid a US salary. I spend two months of the year in China - two weeks at a time.

Good luck with the negotiation. Read some Sun Zhu.

it is about a mulit-national design company with an actually small dependence in china. it would be helpful to have something like a Design Salary Report of China. it would be easier to classify myself. there is one by coroflot, but it isn`t representative for my negotiations.
shanghais standard of living is comparable with New York? Is that right?

thanks
yawl

Yes, I have to ressurect the topic.

I am a brazilian designer, based in Germany (where I post-graduated), have about 2 years experience and I’ve made some internships in some good well known companies.