Research Resources

I read a survey in the furniture forum where the writer had 10 open-ended questions as the survey. This type of question is great when the respondent is being recorded in an interview or focus group, but it is obvious he/she doesn’t realize that is unacceptable for a written questionnaire. I have several years of experience of putting together research programs and know what to do but is there a resource (book, web, etc.) for people who don’t know what’s best? Personally, I don’t know of any. I would be happy to write some general guidelines if anyone is interested.

On a side note, I have never liked the word respondent. Does anyone have a better word?

No takers? Well, as the sketching war takes place overhead, I feel it is as important to do research as well as sketching, CAD, etc. Some of the things I have seen on this forum and other places that try and pass as research are just sad and unprofessional. I have some time, I also want to clarify my thoughts, and so I will attempt to give a research tutorial.

My only qualifier is I have never conducted academic research; I have only observed and read reports. My experience is solely with corporations, big and small, with time and money being the two biggest drivers. Also, as with anything, different areas of research can be turned up or down, I am going to try and be relatively comprehensive. As with any specialty, there is lingo that some people use and others don’t. Please feel free to ask questions or put in your own .02.