psychology of perception

hi cordy,

i was going through some of the archived mails.you had mentioned once about ‘psychology of perception’ as regards product design.it essentially means how people perceive abt products, what shapes their responses etc.Could you please suggest me some llinks or books (preferably that could serve me to understand its principles ! i am a product designer designing consumer appliances for a us based company.

Others too , all of you are a part of the discussion.

Thanx

Abhi

There is a guy here in Germany who does academic work in “Limbic thinking” which is basically trying to apply biology and cultural perspectives to account for how we look at stuff. His name is Häusel and his book “Brain Script” is, I think only in German. http://www.amazon.de/exec/obidos/ASIN/3448061913/028-5192235-5788550

The Germans seem to be more into this stuff nowadays - especially some car designers I know here.

For English titles, look on the academic part of google. There might be something there that could be useful to you as you do your research. psychology of perception - Google Search

I am not sure that you will get some sort of magic bullet from this stuff, but it should be interesting at least.

Can you be more specific about what you are looking for?

There is a whole field of perceptual psychology that focuses on how humans acquire information about artifcats and the environment through the senses. Or did you mean something more product-desgin specific?

“Emotional Design” by Donald Norman.
“Watches Tell More than Time” by Del Coates.