purity

hi, .
for the water purification plus dispenser unit i am designing i need to research into what the onlookers, (visitors, people in general) think is Pur Water. How should a glass full of water, without any textual or graphic indication ‘tell’ the onlooker " I am Pure". Transparency is one thing!
But even if we have some metaphors for pure water, what are they.

How acan i research intto that. As a student i have limited exposure to research methods but one i was thinking of was using a voice recorder. I would go out in public pplaces and colleges and ,markets and ask people to quickly speak out what they think of black, mouse, color, pencil, grass… purewater…mobile, etc. I have read somewhere that such replies come from intuitive faculties of the mind and are seyt in the subconscious. The effect that i am looking for in the project is also in the direction of aesthetic rupture so may be cud help.
Plz… any suggestions!

qwerty

For what it is worth, I have done a lot of ethnographic research in this area and found that with water, one of most powerful signals of perceived “purity” is oddly enough, temperature. Cold water, even if it is not totally “pure” is percieved to be more pure than warm water that actually is pure.

There have been loads of studies about water done in recent years because water filtration and purification have become big business. As far as methodology, we conducted diary studies where we asked people to keep track of their water use for a 48-hour period, and then we did follow-up interviews with them in which they took us through their diaries.

I haven’t heard of this top of mind methodology that you are describing, so I can’t comment on it specifically.

Here’s one you can consider - build a bunch of stimuli - i.e., images that you can show - probably on cards, not on a computer screen. Stimuli that are related to senses

• transparency to cloudiness
  • hot to cold
  • clean to dirty
  • black to white to blue to pink etc