"The Return of Innovation"

“return”? how about “Not Ignoring the Innovators”. i read this stuff and cant help but recall the times good ideas got ignored. shelved. filed away. pushed aside. bc it wasnt specifically what a buyer requested. or didnt fit neatly in a corporate template. and now they’re going to teach it? show people how to research and manage it? or whatever.

why does this sound like hype? the next fad? i’ve got old ID magazines and BusinessWeek’s lying around w eerily similar proclamations.

ID has been the ugly stepchild since its inception. In marketing ID the leaders (IDSA, major firms, etc.) have been desperate in trying to change the perception ID from a nice to have to a got to have. This article makes it seem that what I have been doing for the last 10 years is new and will change business as we know it. Personally, I hope this one finally sticks. I am tired of being pigeon-holed as someone who makes something pretty. I have been doing product strategy (and not design as strategy, that is only one of many strategic approaches) successfully with limited clients and would like to expand. IMO this is what ID is about, not sketching or CAD or any other tactical monkey work. It is something that should be promoted more and taught in the classroom. This site and IDSA’s site rarely have any article or info or discussion on a board on product strategy. It certainly needs to be pushed harder. And if I can be completely cynical, if it does gain acceptance, marketing will take it over and umbrella it with the product managers.

It is a little painful to respond to this for many conflicting and complex reasons.