Persona Workshops

I recently pitched a local Internet start up on my coming in and leading an ideation workshop. I am a recent ID graduate and while I have freelanced on a few of these for other companies, I have never done one on my own. What I proposed what that I create a few fake user personas with full personalities (occupations, interests, lifestyles), and then I come in and lead a workshop on how their product would work for each of these difference consumers.

I have no idea how to price something like this. I know a large consulting firm would charge tens of thousands of dollars, but as a recent graduate working with a small start up, what is a ball park to be working in? Thanks!

I recently pitched a local Internet start up on my coming in and leading an ideation workshop. I am a recent ID graduate and while I have freelanced on a few of these for other companies, I have never done one on my own. What I proposed what that I create a few fake user personas with full personalities (occupations, interests, lifestyles), and then I come in and lead a workshop on how their product would work for each of these difference consumers.

I was hoping people might have advice on how to set up a workshop like this, and what makes them run smoothly. Also, as a recent graduate freelancer, what can I be charging for something like this? Thanks!

So, to be clear, you pitched something you are not sure how to do and now you want advice on how to do it and what to charge?

Yes. I’m a recent graduate trying to make any opportunity I can, and this is what it takes.

I did not read your whole post but I stopped the minute I saw “fake” Persona…

Personas should not be “fake”. If you plan on following through with this you need to genuinely do the research and the personas need to have real characteristics… If you “fake” them, you are just conning the coffee shop into paying you for something worthless.