My first Photoshop render

This is my first attempt at a Photoshop rendering. It’s a snowsport’s goggle with an integrated digital camera I’m designing for a university project as I described in a post about the project at Camera Snowsports Goggle student project

It’s my first attempt at a photoshop render and I’d love to hear your thoughts on it, feel free to criticise.

Thanks,
Ed

I saw your post in the projects section, just didn’t get around to replying.

Thanks for posting. It takes courage to post your first of something for all to see. Great job overall, bellow are my comments, starting with rendering-

1 - the lens looks a little too real (assume it was trimmed from a photo), for me it detracts away from your design, I would look into abstracting this so it fits with your rendering style, or making your rendering style more photo real.

2 - the object is floating, background or a shadow would help it I think

3 - your light source is good, nice contrast, consistant lighting…but the highlights on the nose peak are very gittery. I would use the path tool to straighten them up, or get better with throwing stokes down on the tablet

4 - the nose foam padding is super flat, apply your light source, add a shadow from the goggle frame, and it lookes like you used the noise filter to simulate the foam texture, try checking the monocromatic noise box in that control panel

5 - OK, now we are into the meat, form. You’ve got a lot of crisp lines in the nose, organic stuff above the eyes, and then straight up hard geometry with a box and a circle above the nose for the camera guts. Pick the form language that communicates best what this product does and fits with your consumers life and then roll everything out with it. It will be a much more unified design. Make sure you work that stuff out in your sketches before you start rendering (and work on those loose sketches!)

Nice work overall dude, keep it up.