DAAP sketch journey

hey guys!
I’ve been inspired by some of the other student threads here and decided to start my own. I am currently a second semester freshman in DAAP and I am absolutely loving the program here. I’ve never really took art classes in high school but I did take a few design classes that were more based in design thinking than execution. I love transportation design but I also enjoy electronics and kitchenware so it will be interesting to see where this design journey takes me. Any type of feedback or help would be much appreciated! thanks :slight_smile:

For not taking any art classes in high school it looks like you are off to a solid start. You are doing the right thing by sketching a lot. A lot of promise here. Keep up the high frequency of sketching, posting, seeking feedback, repeat and you will do great.

here is a project we’ve been working on for the past few weeks in our design visualization class. I’ve been working really hard on my ellipses but I know some are still a bit off.

we’ve also been working with colored canson which I am pretty inept at but its been a nice change to try a new material

Hey hasol,

Welcome to the boards!

You’re off to a good start, one thing that I noticed is that your line weight is a bit weak in your sketches. Remember that marker eats up your pencil values. My rule of work flow with pencil and marker is to draw lightly, add some lineweight, apply marker, and then apply final lineweight to clean up. If necessary you can add pencil shading over the marker, but I wouldn’t try to add any more marker after pencil shading as it will make your sketch look a bit foggy. Try it and see how you like it!