maze's sketch thread

Hi guys

I wanted to have my own sketch thread for quite a while but not able to have enough sketches to start. Recently got back to sketching regularly so I think it’s a good way for me to learn. I will be posting new sketches here weekly and hope to get some feedback.

Quick intro of myself. My name is Ben. I’m 19 and currently learning product design in design school in New Zealand and currently a first year undergraduate.

Previously I have some experience in sketching mostly loose sketches of cars, not really formal training. Currently I am undertaking a class on basic sketching in school, daily warm-ups before sketching (Filling paper with lines, square, circle etc.), reading books on sketching with the most recent on How to Draw by Scott Robertson and been doing exercises on that.

I guess my interest is to improve on my sketching (More confident lines, better perspectives, maybe rendering and shadows) therefore starting this thread. Seeing users like mbw, apowers and designfabulous inspired myself to improve and I think it’s a good benchmark to achieve by this year if that’s not too high of an expectation.

Here are some of I think my most successful sketches so far. Haven’t got proper scans of them as they’re from my Instagram. Will do proper scans for next batch.

Maze

I’m glad you started your own discussion thread. It is a great way to track your progress, keep all of your feedback in one spot, and build momentum. The above is a good volume to kick off as a base line. I hope you post regularly so you can get a sense of week by week progress.

A few pieces of feedback below: