Why all the cars and shoes?

Hi all, I am an aspiring designer hoping to soon be studying ID at university. Currently I’m really pushing to bring my sketching ability up to par, and a big part of this has been trawling the internet for examples of sketches, trying to see if I can pick up any good practices. One thing that has struck me is how all these sketches seem to be dominated by vehicles and footwear.

Does anybody have some insight into why these are such favourites? Is it because they can be very flexible in style and allow for freedom of expression? Is there something about them that makes them particularly useful for sketching practice? My curious mind thanks you.

I don’t think the subject matter makes a difference regarding the sketching. What matters is that most people understand how you visually communicate. People know what shoes and cars look like. I think the reason we do these exercises is that it is very difficult to design a appealing vehicle or piece of footwear because people already how it should look. Practicing to create the appealing designs helps you to understand the subtleties in these difficult proportions and know why things work and don’t work. When you practice applying overall proportions, line quality, surface volume, color and texture via sketch form, you begin to increase your capacities over time to create good quality designs with precision execution much quicker and faster using the most minimum amount of strokes. This helps to build the foundation when you begin to create those new forms that people have never seen, assuring your sketch details are intentional and not “accidental” forms.

Cars are very easy to “draw” but very hard to draw well. Very complex forms and surfaces in perspective in general (whether it be cars or space ships or whatever) are always good practice. If you spent all your time drawing tablet cell phones or desks you could probably hone your skills, but wouldn’t be able to show off much of that.