Marker Rendering

Hey guys, I love seeing all the great sketching stuff, I am new to rendering and want to start marker drawings and wanted some advise on which brands are best. The ones I saw differ by a few bucks a marker. OH, and what colours are good to start with?.
Thanks guys

Get a bunch of grey scale markers and start practising with monochromatic forms. Color comes later.

Before everything, make sure you get your line and perspective right. Nothing will look right unless your perspective is good.

As for brand… since you are just starting, go for prisma. They have nice tones, affordable(relatively) and doesn’t stink as much. When you know your style, then start consider other more expensive brands. On the long run, you want to use something refillable.

ive just started my product design course, so, among million sof other things, we are learning rendering. we were reccommended to buy a book called presentation techniques, by dick powell - its not expensive (the price of 3 markers), and is a very good introduction to not just marker rendering but everything that goes with it. well worth it.
the list of colours we were reccomended to buy was:
cool grey 3
cool grey 6
warm grey 6
light blue
dark blue
a grey/blue

• a coupleof other colours, i got a red and a yellow

id add that it might be usefull to get another really light grey
i got copic markers, which were stupidly expensive (£5each, i think they are about $5 in the states), but i am told it is worth it…
other brands that people here have: pantone tria markers, and cheaper promarkers (not refillable)

as excercises we had the following:
render primitives
copy a rendering from a step by step in a book or from the net
render something from a photo
render a real product
render somethign from imagination

this lets you focus on different aspects, building up skills as you go
they say rendering should be fast, but it takes ages till you get the hang of it - set asside several hours :slight_smile:

good luck