this car sketching thing!

Hi!

I am a product designer that for fun presently is trying to explore how to sketch cars! I have been looking at some tutorial and portfolios at cardesignnews and is just becoming confused.

As a product designer I have been thought to sketch a “feeling” concerining the product but to remember that not to try to glorify the reality to much. When I am looking at the sketches and tutorials and compare them to real cars it seems for me as everything is somewhat distorted (the wheels seems for instance to be above 125% bigger than in reality and the cars is either much higher or lower than a regular car).

My question is simple, as I am interested in how you pro’s do it I am just wondering if anyone could give me some tips and tricks about the proportion when sketching cars?

Car design is really styling just like the way fashion designers do clothes. The wheels are too big and the roof lowered because it looks cool. It may look lots different when they have to make it real but that’s just how it is. The sketches and renderings are more inspiration than reality. You don’t really need an Industrial Design degree to do this. You just have to learn to draw a wicked car. Someone else will have to make the thing work.

Actually it’s not at all like that my friend.

In fashion design, there are no tooling costs, in automotive design, the tooling costs are astronomical, a simple observation.

The car sketches you usually see are the start of the process. The exploratory initial sketches where everything is in it’s ideal form in both the exterior and interior. For some reason the skill level has always been super high in trans.