Looking for your feedback

Dear Readers,
I am a Curriculum Developer currently researching a post-secondary program in Graphic & Communications Design. From my research I am learning that the Graphic Designer role is expanding as are the duties expected of them. Fields are merging & Designers must adopt a broader range of skills. As an Interaction Designer, are you expected to only “design” the interaction or would you “develop” it as well (i.e.: use program languages etc.)? I expect larger organizations would employ teams of people, each with distinct roles but smaller companies may expect one person to wear multiple hats. What is reasonable to expect of a Graphic Designer? What is reasonable to expect of an Interaction Designer?

Any experience, insight, feedback you have to offer would be very much appreciated.

Kindest Regards,
Cathy Hughes

I think the short answer is it depends.

Certainly there is a lot more hybridization out there. When I was at frog, and where I work now, the hybridization tends to be between graphic design, motion graphics, interaction design and visual design… not so much on the coding side of things.

When I came onboard here the graphic design team was very much a set of adobe illustrator operators. I flipped the expectations as I grew the team though so that every designer is expected to at the very least do interaction wireframes, traditional graphic design, build things in prototyping apps like InVision, the ability to wrote light copy for social posts, some light skills in animation, photo retouching, and video editing… the mediums are so broad now, you don’t want to limit yourself.

Thank you so much for taking the time to reply, Michael. This is very helpful.