Skills needed for interaction design?

I am currently an industrial design student and I am really into interaction design.
If I want to get into interaction design what should I do?
Switch to communication design major with a focus in web Design?
Keep with ID and teach myself more graphic design and dreamweaver flash etc?

I am currently doing the later as well as reading about face 3 and some other interaction design books.

Any help/ideas/personal experiences around this would be appreciated.

Thanks.

switch to a school with a proven Interaction Design major.

I know several fellow ID students who made the jump to IDx (is that the correct term?), and they love(d) it, currently working at some major firms and doing quite well for themselves.

oh yea,

switch from Steel Reserve to PBR- that stuff will eat your guts out. PBR is just as trashy, twice as good, and costs less.
ha, take care and good luck.

Thanks for the reply Taylor. But PBR doesn’t come in 8.2 high gravity 40’s… and I like the feeling of my stomach burning.

I only know of a few interaction design programs :

• Carnegie Mellon University
  • Institute of Design, Illinois Institute of Technology
  • North Carolina State University
  • University of Art and Design Helsinki
  • Virginia Commonwealth University

The problem is these programs tend to be graduate. So maybe I go to these programs after my undergrad.

I really think it all comes down to how I think and if I have the technical skills to do interaction design.

I am wondering if I include projects in my portfolio that are interaction design based (i.e. one I am working on with ATM design- both kiosk and user interface.) if this would allow for an internship and thus real world experience that could lead to a job.

I guess what I’m saying is that I want to know if I can approach this field as an ID student who is self taught in interaction design.

Anyone else have thoughts on this?

Thanks