The yellow ball

I’m referring to the new Dyson vac featured on the front page. It’s definitely not a new idea, and I think the use of “ball” is a mere gadget. I can use a thin wheel and achieve the same effect. Well, a motocycle wheel can do the job as well. Also, this is exactly what you find on a canister vac attachment.

First impression of that vac is… damn, that’s a lot of parts! Are they all necessary? I bet there are way better solutions to the problems they were trying to solve.

Then the ball gives a “unique” feature to the vac, however, they sacrificed another. When I was doing my vac project last year, one of the features that are oftenly found but easily taken granted for is the ability of the vac to stand freely.

Now, I’ve looked at those images at their website, it seems that you will need to do an extra step to make the vac stand, that is to remove the kick stand at the back.

Of course I am a student and don’t have much say, but this is just tooooo unnecessary to me, too many extra parts and efforts. I’d rather stick to the usual design. IMO, this is a bad example of ID. It doesn’t matter how well the vac works, I won’t buy it.

The last time I tried their vac, the handle was horrible.

I don’t really understand what the problem they are trying to solve is.
From a physics point of view their claim doesnt seem to make a whole lot of sense to me. If you want the cleaner to turn you have to apply force to it, an dchange your momentum no mater how the thing rolls. it is kind of cool that the motor is in the ball, but other than that it seems like they are grasping for things to “revolutionize”, just to keep keep their reputation as trendsetters. How does the handle work? it seems to be at the wrong angle to be comfortable. Then again

Of course I am a student and don’t have much say