Anybody know anything about Crate and Barrel?

I live only a couple minutes away from their corporate HQ, but despite searching LinkedIn, looking on their website, and searching coroflot, I can’t seem to find anyone who has done any work for them in the product design dept. If they farm it out, who would it be to? I couldn’t find anything when I looked. Thanks!

I know a thing or two. They buy most of their stuff, and sell it as is, or rebrand it with their name on it. I believe they do very little in house product design. They are always looking for new stuff that fits their aesthetic though.

Great company to work for, good benefits, and people stick around for a very long time - even in the retail side.

thanks! That definitely makes a lot of sense from the lack of designers I managed to find that were tied to the company. It’s weird knowing that one of the leaders in houseware retail just buys their stuff… but then again I’m just a young inexperienced student, I clearly have a lot to learn haha

That is interesting, but makes perfect sense. I’m curious to learn more about this from a business perspective if anyone can share more information.

-Where are they buying goods from- (other brands, designers, individuals)?
-How do they find these products/developers?
-Is there ever licencing with the designer/developer or is the product literally bought but with exclusivity?
-Do any other design-oriented companies come to mind that use these same methods?

For low end IBM monitor displays, sometimes they used to take a nice quality pre-existing monitor and just have the covers shot in ‘stealth’ black plastic and put IBM logos on it. For the higher end monitors, it’s basically the same thing - Select pre-existing monitor parts that are probably being used for other company’s products, and designing/creating completely new plastic covers for them