Softgoods Grading Advice/Insight

How’s it going Core AndreC here. Recently I’ve started doing some freelance for a softgoods medical based product startup. I was originally brought on to do some concept dev for future products, but now they have me working on their launch product. Right now we are in the process of grading via several potential manufacturers. I have some knowledge about what the process entails, but I’m pretty new to the softgoods world. Does anyone have any insight about the process and how it is done?

Actually, it is going to mostly depend on what class of medical device it is. Soft goods likely are Class 1 or 2. I don’t think I have seen a soft goods Class 3, but never say never. Once a class is determined, is it 510K exempt or not? It is likely to be exempt, but not always.

The class and your FMEA will drive your specification. The specification will drive the QTPs for production and incoming. As the “engineer”, you will be responsible for determining the QTPs, but you should be getting guidance from your regulatory and legal departments.

If your product is not a device, the FMEA will drive your specification alone. No different between hard goods and soft goods really, just different forms of failure. For example failure at a stitch seam versus at a knit line.

Thanks for the reply iab. The product is Class 1 and is similar to a weighted vest that Occupational Therapists use with patients. I’m not sure on the 501k exempt status, though. QTP meaning quality testing protocol?

If your product is very similar to the vest and is not “new”, it is likely 510K exempt. You really need your regulatory and legal to make that call, not me.

But in my haste in replying yesterday I forgot to say you may need design controls and GMP. Or, you could be exempt from design controls and GMP. Again, that is up to regulatory/legal, but those will also have impact on your quality testing.