My shoes journal

Hi! My name is Poetri Marsela I’m taking a footwear design class right now at Academy of Art University and this is my first time drawing shoes.
I’m going post my shoes sketches (hopefully) everyweek and would like to get feedback from anyone and I’m open to any type of critiques, from sketching technique, rendering technique, proportions and else.

I appreciate your time and feedback I can get and eager to learn more from anyone in here.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Poetri Marsela

Shoes Topic 01: Running Shoes

Shoes Topic 02: Hiking Boots

Shoes Topic 03: Skate Shoes

Shoes Topic 04: Vintage Sneakers

Hi Poetri, sure! And what a cool first name to have :slight_smile:

Your sketches are not bad at all, very good work! You are clearly a natural sketcher and have learned to confidently define your strokes. Sometimes they overshoot a bit too much for my taste, but that’s also a matter of style. My advice would be:

• Explore more in terms of drawing style. Try out more contrast in color and value, different line weights, work with drop shadows and backgrounds. Work towards an own unique style.
  • Work on your ability to express textures and materials. Your stitches draw too much attention, maybe try a thinner line or lighter color for those.
  • Make the step to 3d perspective.
  • About design: think critically about what you want to explore with your sketches. It can be more fun if you give yourself a clear purpose for each sketch, so you develop not only your sketching skills but also your design thinking. Some of your later sketches are developing an own design style, almost a blend of puma, nike and adidas. See if you can create your own brand for a specific user group!

Looking forward to seeing more of your work.
-Ralph

Hi Ralph :slight_smile:

Thank you for the feedback. I’ll do your advices. I should have more details for next week assignment. I have to make the digital rendering so I should have more textures and materials.