Hired as at shoe designer, given graphic design tasks

Please help! I need advice.

I’ve been hired as a shoe design and development assistant, but over the past 2 months of my time here, I’ve been appointed some major graphic design tasks including ad campaigns and sending things to print. My background is mainly product design.

Since it’s a small company, I do the best of my ability to do these graphic design tasks, but I feel my work is sub par in their outcome.

It’s become a budding problem and is causing tension for me. How do I let my boss know my expertise lies within industrial/product design, not graphic design, without sounding like I don’t want to do the tasks appointed to me?

Recently I approved something go to print that ended up being terrible quality. It was beyond my knowledge, but I’m sure the blame will be placed on me…

I posted this in the employment section as well, but as an assistant footwear design position, I thought I might get more specific advice here.