Freelance footwear design pricing

Hey guys,

I might be landing a gig to design some athletic footwear. I have about 8 years of corporate experience but now I’m on my own freelancing. It’s a different world.

What’s the freelance rate for design concepts to first pull-overs for one athletic shoe? Lets use a $50 msrp trail runner for example. I would include: 4-6 rendering (upper, insole, outsole for each) , 1-2 rounds of revisions, research and materials, colorway options, tech package and possible last tweaking). I’m also going to be consulting, like stopping in and presenting the work and basically being available to revise whatever is needed until the shoe looks killer.

If you feel that sharing pricing info is not a good idea on a public forum please feel free to PM me, if you don’t mind with your feedback. I appreciate any advice on how to approach this.

-Dave

I doubt you are going to get much reply on pricing. It’s a type of trade secret. Not to mention it can vary widely depending on your skills/experience/product/location/client, etc.

The best price is the highest one that the client is willing to pay :slight_smile:

R

Yeah, that’s what I figured. I put some info into the post like my experience and shoe price but I realize a lot depends on the clients size and resources. I had to submit my proposal yesterday so I was hoping to get some quick tips.

I ended up taking my freelance hourly rate and multiplied it by how long I think each phase would take. I gave a flat rate and my (ambitious) hourly rate. I happen to think what we do takes a lot of dedication and time to learn so I never try to undercut pricing. I always try to start on the high side and go from there. I will post back with the results.

-Dave

I’m a little late to your post, but it depends on a couple of things. Are you only getting a design fee? Are you getting any other fees? Development, sourcing?