furniture design programs

Hi, Im from Mexico and Im a industrial designer just graduated,I love furniture and I have done some myself, but what I want to do know is create a portfolio, but im looking for an easy program to work on for my designs and also for the rendering so it can be photorealistic, could anyone tell me which programs would be the best? i like minimal and contemporary furniture and also like to play with organic shapes so… pls…

in the other hand Im looking forward to get into the furniture market somehow but i just dont know where to start at… im confused, could anyone help me here?

by the way anyone who is in the furniture stuff… can you provide any web pages of cool furniture u know or magazines i can suscribe to? thank u

one thing I can tell you is that if your really want to make furniture, make furniture.

Most of the successful contemporary and conceptual designers I know don’t illustrate or simulate- they build models, mock-ups and finally the design.

Thats sad then.

Every contract furniture company in the US uses some kind of software tool for design work.

Its the way we do things in the 21st century… :unamused:

whats wrong… i mean i do know programs (autocad, inventor, more less inventor pro/e rhino cinema 4d) im just looking for any other program that might help me, and by the way im not going to just do furniture because to begin with i do not have money to make the real furniture thats why im trying to make them digitalized, u know. anyway im doing this because i need a portfolio so i can get an scholarship, thank u.

Autocad is good for laying out construction documents
Form z is best for manipulating form/ shape and rendering.
You can also import these from form Z into photoshop for great rendering techniques

I would buy Rhino over FormZ - much more of an industry standard when it comes to furniture design.