A little insight into your guys world.

Im very new to all of this… well, I guess its more accurate to say Im not involved in furniture design or manufacturing at all… (also my first post so hello to everyone here)

I’ve been working in motion graphics for 6 years but Im done with it. I love all the creative aspects and troubleshooting but I hate sitting at a computer all day fidgeting with digital files. In the end theres nothing tangible or anything of substance. Kill yourself for weeks and after it plays on air for 30 seconds its gone, no one cares…

I have a relatively unrealized appreciation for beautiful furniture. Pieces not only for practical use but also just beautiful to look at. Ive always been pretty passionate about it without really realizing it.

SO, the point of my posting is, I was hoping some of the seasoned artists on this site might give me some insight or perspective on their whole world. How they got into, what they love about it, if they do it for money or for passion… Schooling / companies… Things like that.

Seems like there’s a lot of designers on this forum, but just curious if you guys also create the pieces yourself? Do many people have their own workshops? Does it work like that?

I guess Im saying Im naive to your guys whole world and if anyone is up for sharing, Id be interested in hearing some perspective… I respect what many of you guys and gals do.

Thanks.