A New Category of Furniture

Hi All,

I’ve recently come up with a new category of furniture. As odd as it sounds, I think one day it could be as common as a coffee table or a bookshelf. My question is how should I proceed from here? I’m new to furniture design so I’m hoping some of you may be able to help me.

The way I see it, I have two options. I can try to license the design or I can start a company to produce the furniture myself. My only concern is that as soon as I start showing the designs, anyone will be able design around it. Is this a common concern and is there anything I can do about it? I just want to capitalize on the opportunity as best as I can.

Would the first person to design a bookshelf have been able to patent it? or am I just being naive? Thank you in advance for any replies.

If you can prove to a patent Examiner that your “new” product is not just a combination of exiting “art” (ideas) you may qualify for a Utility Patent. Once you have the patent it is up to YOU to enforce it; meaning that you will be financially responsible (spelled; l-a-w-y-e-r-s) to make anyone using your patent to stop.

The alternative to a Design Patent is called a Design Patent. A Design Patent essentially covers the outward appearance of an object; car bodies, chairs, tables, toasters, computer peripherals, sex toys, etc.

All you have to do to get around a Design Patent is not make your product exactly like the other one.

Talk to a Patent Attorney for an opinion.

See: http://www.nolo.com/ (Patents, Copyright & Art)

Thanks for the reply Lmo,