Bending wood in the microwave

Has anyone tried bending small pieces of wood in the microwave? I’m trying to make a 1/8 scale model of a chair (bent plywood).

I’ve never done this before…

I’d buy a sheet of birch veneer, make yourself a 1/8 scale hard foam mold, and form it yourself. It works just like full scale plywood layup.

I’d buy a sheet of birch veneer, make yourself a 1/8 scale hard foam mold, and form it yourself. It works just like full scale plywood layup.

thanks dude i’ll do just that.

i dont know if your could buy veneer over there. but that is a great idea.

we did some really killer 1/4 scale models of a bunch of bent wood projects (settee, chaise, side chair, tables, etc…) by taking the really thin ply used for model airplanes and literally building bucks just like you would for a real chair. We then sanded down that ply to just 1 layer of veneer and did a final lamination over the built layers to hide seams / gaps.

It’s time intensive, but the results are fantastic. I’d post pics, but can’t due to IP issues.

most models are made of balsa… i didn’t realize that it can be bent… seems like it would split when compressed around any radius cause it seems so flimsy. but i’ll try that… thanks for the suggestion OkayEnough.

where’s the best place to pick up some?

Not sure what size city you live in, but model train stores are a good source for thin wood (both balsa and micro ply), along with all kinds of other interesting things. You can get birch ply down to 1/64" thickness- six plies of that will get you to 3/32", which is 1:8 scale for 3/4" plywood. Depending on how you’re bending it, kerf cutting 3/32 stock might work well too.

after kerf cuts have been made, do you still have to soak in water or steam or something or are the cuts good enough? what’s a good saw to cut the ply’s delicately enough? also how wide must the cuts be, how deep and how far apart from each other?