26" vs 29" vs 650 - bullshit or not?

I helped a friend out by fixing some derailleur issues they had, but it was the first time I’ve looked at a 29" up close (having kids has meant I haven’t been as up to date on bikes as I used to be when I worked in a shop).

My first impression was how big it is (an Avanti Aggressor 29.1 if you are interested), and even just riding it around the street in order to adjust the gears felt like I was on top of a penny farthing. My commuter (26" hardtail with rigid forks) felt like a wippet in comparison.

Even though I’m out of the loop, I can’t see what the fuss is. Lots of claims that it is easier to roll over obstacles (hmm) and give a bigger tyre contact patch, but with quite cheap entry level bikes available with good 80mm-120mm front suspension, I think this is a furphy. Also, just put on a wider tire for more contact.

If anyone can teach me physics, please do, but my understanding is rotational weight is much worse than static weight- you are always starting and stopping your wheels and drivetrain, so weight savings here are much better than weight savings in the frame or components for example. A 29" with a huge tyre is a lot heavier than a 26", and would flex more too. It needs a bigger frame, so you’re wheel base is longer, and weighs more (smaller chainrings though) - all adding up to be not as good.

Then there is the 650 (or 27.5") which looks more like marketing on top of the 29". Is this just a cynical way to get people with perfectly good bikes to buy something new? I found this bikeradar video which didn’t answer any questions:

Any 29" advocates comments appreciated.

Angle of attack is the best comparison, as far as rolling over obstacles.
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/images/technology/2013/tech27-5_image2.jpg

My ipad isn’t cooperating, so I’ll work on a better response a little later. I’m totally pro 29" by the way. Been riding one for 6 years and haven’t looked back.