Storage system for creative minds at work.

Hi all,

My name is Cameron Whitfield and I am in my 4th year studying industrial design at Massey University in Wellington, New Zealand.

For my major project I’m looking into designing some sort of storage system or product for creative people in a creative space.
I DO NOT WANT TO JUST DESIGN A BOX!!!

Some key focus areas I’m looking into are:

• A storage system designed for creative people in a creative setting. (i.e. studio space, freelance space etc)
• Understanding the idea of confined smart storage (being small but creating a big impact)
• Does a organised workspace / workstation effect the individual’s productivity and creativity?
• What do creative people need stored? How has it happened in the past, what are current solutions and how will it be stored in the future?
• The integration of security into a studio space, without being a dominant and obtrusive feature.
• How can a storage system be flexible enough to support and adapt to different working styles? What are the ways people work? I.e. a group, individual.

Two research methods I am investigating and would appreciate some feedback on are:

1. Draw/ sketch the ‘perfect’ storage system you as an individual, with the theme ‘Thinking Outside the Box.’

2. What do people actually carry with them/ on them and what personal things do they store within their working space, (i.e. toys, plants, sports gear) -How do you store these things? -How do you organise everything?
    -What do you as a creative person do to calm yourself down? -What do you as a creative person carry in you bag and what do you have in your pockets.

If you are interested or know of anyone that is, please feel free to comment, give feedback and participate in my research methods.

Cheers
Cameron Whitfield
(cam.whitfield@gmail.com)