Irony booklight

Hi all this is my first post, please be nice:0

Hi all am in the process of building my first piece. I am an Industrial designer but have always had the yearning to create things that have no commercial intent mostly experimental "stuff"I am a way through a piece I have been working on for a while (a matter of years) and am getting close to finnishing it. I have attched some 3D images on the link below. Please have a look and comment.
The peice is: a lofted ply base with 5 axis CNC’d semi translucent solid surface which sandwhices custom built flat panel lamps. Above this base is a standard/classic, unlit Incandescent lamp suspended by three descrete ultra fine filements. Opon the glass surface of the lamp are the printed words:“I am reading the lamp by the light of the book

The peice is called “the irony booklight” Please click on link below

Imgur

I am posting because …I …am…running out …of…energy. I am posting because I sometimes love it and then question why I am spending so much energy and time on it.
I am seeking comment/critique.
Thank you. :slight_smile:

I like the idea. Seems like you’ve figured out the manufacturing for it (though I’m not sure why you need a 5-axis, looks like it could be done with 3), any pics of the work in progress? I’m curious as to what stage you’re at, a matter of years seems like a long time for this type of project if you’re working at it consistently. Are you planning to put it in a gallery ultimately?

PS. I’ve heard embedding the pictures will help to draw interest :wink: