Overmoulding Silicone / TPE onto a Printed Circuit Board

Hey guys,

I’m a student trying to figure out how to manufacture a piece of wearable tech - wondering if anyone here might point me in the right direction.

The product is a wristband coated in TPE. What would be really nice is if I could overmould the TPE directly onto the PCB.
I have been in contact with a couple of companies, and their response has been a) to overmould a PCB, one must go for a low pressure, low heat solution. This plastic is usually quite rigid - not the sort of flexibility suitable for a wristband. b) silicone / TPE requires high pressure, high heat. This more or less blasts the components off the PCB.

Hence its tricky. However, I took apart a Nike Fuelband (http://i.imgur.com/yhZkoJi.jpg) - and it seems they have managed it. They have used some sort of TPE (I think but I can’t tell), and they have overmoulded it directly onto the PCB - I was able to peel it right off the surface (perhaps some sort of coating was used?)

How did they do it Core77?

If your vendors are saying it isn’t possible, give them the fuel band and say “OK now what?”

The Fuel band appears to be TPE + PP based on a bunch of different sites around the internet. The polypropylene may be helping assist with the molding temperatures.