Portfolio Critique Please

I asked for feedback on my portfolio back in April and have since fleshed out and refined my portfolio in response to this. I’d love to get some feedback and see where I can improve! Be as critical as you like so long a it is constructive please.

Thanks! :smiley:

My concern would be the lack of information that relates to your exploration and refinement. The two pieces i looked at only had 1 page of sketches each.

As a hiring manager i am less concerned bout the final product image, and judge your design skills around the process. if you dont show it you run the risk of being hired and tasked with doing final imagery for the work of others…
Gonna go against a long time belief (core77 helped to change it) add to the concept sketching exploration if you dont have them do more, take some time to refine the quality of the sketches, even is it is to simply hit them with a straight edge and vary the line weight.

That’s a fair point and thank you for commenting. If I may ask how many pages of sketches would you consider appropriate? Do you also look for writing and description of research and concept development or are sketches the more important factor?

It’s not about how many pages you do, it’s about showing that you genuinely explored and exhausted many ideas to find a great solution.

Hi Peter,
Here are some comments.

Sushi Monsters:

• “Meal time can be scary for a child”–show me a nicely shot, emotional picture of a little kid not cooperating with his parents at lunch time.
    -Instead of listing your “concepts explored,” put a label next to each sketch. Hand-write the labels so it looks like the labels were on the sketch page.
    -“Prototypes were made…” --show me picture(s) of someone using chopsticks and trying to take out a piece of sushi. You say several types of slots were tested. You could take a picture of testing each slot, then whichever one you chose to move forward with, you make that picture bigger.