Ryan Parrish Portfolio

Hello All,

I am working on my new portfolio website. I am a recent graduate of KCAD. I am working to bring my old projects from school up to my current abilities I don’t think they reflect my current abilities. I also have work from an internship although I can’t share it on the interwebs. I would like to continue working in the power tool and outdoor power equipment sector. Although, I am open to any type of work that is available to a entry level designer. Additionally, I would ideally like to work at a consultancy.

Any feedback would be appreciated

http://ryanparrish.me

Thank You

hi Ryan. little bit of feedback to your book, it looks good. :slight_smile: :slight_smile: though i would recommend expanding your sketches a little bit on your backpack idea. you can really ground the concept if you show it in context. in this case its simply adding a person wearing the item in a final drawing. something else you could add as well is a small bumf at the front end of each project just to explain its context a little bit. your coffee maker for example has a couple of very interesting themes, but what is the ultimate design goal? are you designing a unit for people with limited dexterity, or a new loading system that doesn’t clog up as easily? cool if its both, but tell the viewer :smiley: this is part of the design storytelling, its just being direct and communicating your intentions. :stuck_out_tongue: actually, you do a great job of doing this in your thesis. just keep the theme consistent. as far as how much work you need to show…different people will have a differing opinions. but realistically, 4 to 5 projects is enough. if you like power eq, then do a study of a tool. most fresh grads will have portfolios that are very similar. by including something you enjoy and have invested time in, you can stand out.

hope that helps. if i twisted your hippocampus, apologies in advance.

Hi Ryan,