Portfolio Length

Hi everyone,

I am a student graduating in May. Currently my whole portfolio is roughly 50 pages, or 25 spreads. This seems way too long to include in an email and expect professionals to look through for a potential job position.

My question is, what do you typically send out for a job application? A shortened work sample? A teaser? How long is this document? What does it include (the whole design process, just topic and hero shots…)?? Professionals, what do you want to see? How many pages per project, on average?

Currently I have made a “work sample” document that is 7 pages long (cover, one page for each of my five projects, resume, and an about me page). It covers my project topics and gives a teaser of the ID work and final product. Ideally, this would spark interest and then I could follow up by sending my full portfolio with a more thorough process.

Thoughts?
Thanks for your expertise!!

-Alex

Hi Alex,
There is no pre-determined length. What you described sounds reasonable. 7 pages sounds reasonable as long as you feel it covers yours skill set like ideation, CAD, Modeling, Rendering, etc. I think as long as you keep the PDF to less than 5 mbs it should be fine. You can also include a link to your online portfolio (website, coroflot, behance, etc.) for more in depth or additional projects.
It’s all about how you tell the story. If the person receiving your email takes a look at your PDF and is interested to find out more, then they will click on your links or send you an email.

I’d say 15-20 pages. No spreads. Spreads don’t read well digitally, single screens do. Make sure you include your resume in that. The likelihood of me clicking an additional link is low unless your portfolio is so hot it atomically melts me screen. I’ve always erred on the side of longer and it has worked for me. Less is less in a portfolio. I’m trying to get to know you through your work. If there isn’t much there I’m going to assume the same of the person.