John Mauriello Portfolio

Hey guys,

Check out my portfolio at http://www.studioello.com

I’m an industrial designer with around 4 years of professional experience.

I’d really like to hear your thoughts on how I might be able to improve.

Thanks for your input guys! I intend to pay it forward by reviewing a few other folios on here when I get a chance.

No feedback at all? I guess it’s perfect!

:wink:

[ Deleted ]

If you don’t get a lot of responses after posting your work, it mostly means that people don’t connect with it as they should.

I will have to agree with Keno.
As it stands now, it’s a bit light and the projects do not seem to represent your current stage in your career.

I’d look into fleshing them out a bit more. Currently it feels as if we are only getting 20% of the projects and we are left asking “where is the rest”?
Beep is a good example.

Also, in terms of profile picture, it reminded me of this oldie but goodie thread a while back :wink:

Few Small Technical Things.

Craft your Square images on the front. The headphones and eye glasses all have cropped text. It takes like 5 minutes to recrop a photo to exactly what you want. Comes off a tiny bit lazy.

Your image grid needs to have a bit more continuity. Treat it as an image board. Similar vibe across all your feature images.

For 4 years. Your work depth seems to be lacking a bit or possible outdated?

Proto: Solid project. Would be cool to show a bit of sketching or CAD. Just to show the engineering behind it a bit more.

Mollusk looks good from a process side.
Few questions. Is it only time? You show it as a surf product, does it do anything to make the surfer better?

Also fatal flaw in your one size stretch band fits all. It doesn’t work in reality. Wrist sizes vary way to much. Especially not for a sports watch where you’d want a snugger fit.

Also looks a lot like the adidas Smart Fit watch. Not a bad thing, but if the forms been done a hundred times. What makes this different?