IDALs portfolio 2014 review

Hi guys,

I’ve building a portfolio for the last few weeks and here is the result. My aim is to find a new position for mid Spring 2015. This the presentation I’ll be sending over to companies, currently I’m working on rearranging everything in coroflot and behance. Most of the projects I’ve been working on since Feb 2013 are still confidential, but I got the OK for these three here.

I’d appreciate very much if you shared your thoughts about them!

http://s3images.coroflot.com/user_files/individual_files/367548_ObyMCLNMazjPVFbEM8uERoo4X.pdf

Cheers,

Ale

Hey Alejandro,

I think your portfolio isn’t bad. You show some good core skills and an understanding for the process of designing a product from the ground up. Your portfolio makes a competent impression.

But in my opinion it’s a a little overloaded with both visual and text information.
I believe you could slim this down and condense it further, making it tighter and easier to browse.
To show slides of visual references is good but it feels almost as if they make up 50% of your portfolio, visually competing with your designs and making your work look a little unpolished by comparison.
Personally I think that your portfolio would lend itself better to something you bring into the interview and present, rather than send out. What you send might benefit from being more concise.

Another thing that stuck out to me is the choices for your initial project slides. I don’t feel like they do a good job of setting up your project. Personally I have always liked to show the final design initially in a nice hero shot or in context.
Some don’t as they want to have this big reveal moment in the end of the project but in my experience, no one has the patience to wait for that. I would want to see right away what I am in for and then see how you got there.
But that might be just my preference.