Portfolio Feedback

Hi guys, I have just been introduced to this site by a colleague over at my internship company. I am currently a final year student taking a Diploma in Product and Industrial Design in a polytechnic here in Singapore. This is my current portfolio which I used to enter my internship company and it would be great if I could be given advice on how to improve on it such that i can get a placement in University. Shawn Ng Product Design Porfolio 2014 by Shawn Ng - Issuu

I am open to harsh critics so please feel free to give your feedback. Thanks in advance!

Shawn, my first impression of your portfolio was that it seemed too busy visually. I was a little overwhelmed by the amount of text in your portfolio. When I view a portfolio for the first time I am primarily looking at the imagery. I tend to think that some of the best portfolios have imagery that speaks for itself and only needs the minimal amount of text to explain the intent of the design. If I am intrigued I will dig a little deeper into the project and read to understand more.

I liked the title page that you developed for each project. Those title pages were very clean and easy to digest and read. After those title pages however your portfolio seemed to incorporate too much text and graphics that seemed to overshadow the work. At first I didn’t even see the sketch development. I had to look much closer to find the small sketch images for each project. Overall I think that you are trying to compress too much on to each page. I would try to lengthen the portfolio by adding several pages, increase the amount of space given to your sketch and development work, reduce the amount of text and tone down the graphics overall.

Thank you very much for your feedback! I have been looking around the portfolios in this forum hoping to see how others present their work, will definitely try to reduce the words etc. to improve on my own.

You wanted harsh…