Portfolio Feedback

Hey All,

I’m a graduate student at RISD, graduating this May with a masters in industrial design. I’ve been applying to jobs like crazy and receiving little response. I want to work in transportation, specifically motorcycles, however, I realize that may not happen right off the bat. I am applying to design firms, responding to product design job postings, and hitting up all the contacts I have. Still bupkiss.

I’m worried that my portfolio is somehow confusing. I haven’t finished my thesis yet, which I feel is my best work, and I want to include it when I apply for jobs, but it’s just not ready, so I have to rely on my previous work.

Also, I prefer using the RISD behance portfolio site to my own website (Portfolio) for many reasons. Is this bad? Please take a look at my work. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Looks like a lot of half assed finished stuff. Ideas are killed by bad execution.

Hey Marty

Welcome to the boards. I like the breadth of work and the fact that a lot of it is physically prototyped or fabricated which makes the projects grounded and real. On the flip side it leaves me feeling like you might be more interested in prototype/fabrication/model shop type of work and because of that I start to criticize you on your fabrication skills which are ok for a designer but sub-par for a professional model maker/fabricator.

You have a lot of final executions but not enough design process that lets me get an idea of what you’re trying to do. I don’t know much about the motorcycle industry but my guess is that it might be similar to the automotive industry in that form development and top notch sketching skills are a must have for most entry level positions. Of course strong foundations in fabrication and mechanical knowledge would help too but I doubt you’d get interest based solely on that.