Student Portfolio for internships

Hi everyone,

I’m a 3rd year Student at De Montfort University, UK studying MDes Design Products. I’m trying to look for an internship between the 3rd and 4th years of my degree but so far I’ve not had much luck, so I would love for you guys to have a look at my portfolio to help me identify weakness or areas to build on. The work in there currently is 1st and 2nd year work and I am planning on adding newer work soon when I get time!

Here’s the link: Behance

It’s on my Behance page, so if you want to take a look at my other work and CV its all on there.

Thank You!

Jenny

Hi Jenny,

Your portfolio shows your skills well, and shows you’re well rounded. I think you could improve it further by cutting out some projects - it’s bit overwhelming at 69 pages. Here are the projects I liked (with feedback and reasoning)-

Aquaflex - Awesome sketches, form, and final result. Interesting problem to tackle too. It wouldn’t hurt to talk about the user - who’s wearing this? Maybe get some quotes and feedback from long distance swimmers.

Folding Chair - Nice model making and final solution. Some thoughts - define the problem a little more. What challenges does an urban home face? How would you define a modern interesting aesthetic? Show more inspiration and examples.

Earphones - Good display of CAD ability. I think this project could benefit from more explanation on form and inspiration. How would you define the design styles of Chicago blues era? When was the Chicago blues era? The ornate pattern reminds me a little of Art Deco, but more of a Rococo style.

USB Drive - Some sweet renderings in here, and I know some firms will appreciate the orthographic and engineering drawings. Another good project for showing your CAD ability.

Finally some layout feedback-
Good: great project introductions, clearly defining the goals and problems.