Feedback and Guidance Request

Hello Core77!

I’m fairly new to the boards, but I have been following Core77 and Coroflot for a few years now. At the end of the year I will be faced with a decision and am looking for advice from professionals or anyone in general with a bit of knowledge to spare.

Here is some quick background information to help place things into perspective. I graduated from an Industrial Design program back in 2011, and since then I have been interning with a manufacturing company. During the past two years of interning with the company I have expressed my versatility by fulfilling a multitude of different job requirements. Everything from render production, packaging design and merchandising solutions, to some engineering work. As alluded to above, my internship of over two years (I’m pretty sure that is a long time to be considered an intern, but it was paid at least) will finally be coming to an end at the end of the year, Dec. 31, 2013.

Now I am faced with two decisions. One being that I can take a few prerequisites and attempt to go back to school for mechanical engineering, with hopes of further enhancing my knowledge of the full design-to-manufacturing process. Is there any value in this, or is it better to just have someone really good at one or the other? The other would be acquiring a few more skills that may be hindering me from getting a job, granted that you don’t find my portfolio horrendous that is. Some of the skills I am thinking of are Solidworks and code training (HTML, CSS, etc…).