Heading home, appreciates any help.

Hi Everyone,
Thanks in advance for any and all comments and help. I am a industrial designer from New Zealand who has been traveling for the 4 years since graduating. I have done some freelance work and some of my own self driven projects, unfortunately nothing that has gone through to production. However its is time for me to return home and I am really wanting to get work within the design field so I have put together my portfolio and am currently getting in touch with companies back home. One of my major problem is that I am 4 years out of school with no solid references on my resume, and although what I have learned from traveling is of value but I dont quite no how to approach companies for work or if my portfolio is up to scratch to impress them.
My portfolio site is http://www.hamishdudley.com.
Thanks again.

Just my knee-jerk thoughts:

• “Today you are in luck I am currently looking for a job” cracked me up
  • I think the site is way stronger than the PDF, in fact you may want to take the PDF down and format it a bit more like your site.
  • Sometimes I have a hard time “getting” your projects. Some more straightforward views of the projects with clear callouts could help.
  • Too much text on the site and far too much text in the PDF
  • The solar lamp thing has too little content (or too many pages?), and the Mu thing has way too much per page, IMHO
  • More images of the concrete lamp? It’s an intriguing project and a disappointing single page
  • “About me” page is a touch braggy

Thanks Hatts for looking over every thing,
I did mean “Today you are in luck” to be funny but now you mention it I dont know if it is a good thing or not.
I already had the PDF made and wanted to cut down on the text when making the website, but I do need to edit it down even further.
Yeah the Mu pages are over loaded I need to bring them more in line with the rest of the portfolio.