Portfolio Fry-fest

Hi Guys and Ladies,

I graduated this spring and have been mostly working on my portfolio since then- I just started applying for ID jobs / internships in the last month. Since then I’'ve been applying to a few places, hearing nothing back, polishing the portfolio a bit more, repeat… I figure it’s about time to have it professionally fried / roasted / critiqued really hard. I’d be grateful for some criticism!

http://www.matthewtuckerdesign.com/industrialdesign.html

Thanks so much,
Matthew Tucker

Haven’t looked at a thing yet, but WOW did that page load fast. Fast and lean is good in my book.

You have compiled a pretty crazy set of projects. Lots and lots of great work. The amount of polish you have on this thing must have taken months. The videos and photos are great.

However, in an effort to make you a teensy bit better, here are some things:

Read through your resume again. Look for:

• Periods missing
  • Duplicate skills
  • Orphan words
  • Lack of capital letters in YouTube (yours is Youtube)
  • ANY reason to remove high school sports

Airbags

• What happens to the nail apron when the hip and tail bone bags inflate? The bags appear to be right where large quantities of pointy objects happen to be.
  • Why does the acceleration due to gravity use the metric system but roofers fall using feet?
  • Similarly, why does one fall 15 feet but negatively accelerate over a distance of 200mm?
  • Again, a .6 liter tank releases 55 gallons of gas?
  • If the average roofer does not bother with a $15 hard hat/helmet, why would they pull on an accelerometer-equipped Dyneema air bag vest that costs considerably more?
  • Dyneema is strong but the stab-resistance comes from oriented layers – do you plan to have several layers of material cross-oriented to prevent punctures?
  • ‘g’ is not a unit of force. Newtons, lbf, kgf, etc (I don’t mean to harp on the units, but apparently that is all I am seeing tonight)

Thread