Google UX design certificate VS Interaction Design graduate study

Hi,
I graduated from College for Creative Studies in 2018 majoring Product Design.

I’ve started Interaction Design Graduate program at CCS this week and I came across Google is planning on releasing a UX design certificate.

My priority is getting hired in Product/Industrial Design field (even during the program, I will be actively searching for a job).

As you know Graduate program is very costly, for my career and goal (getting hired as a industrial or product design in the near future) which program
would be better for me to pursue? When companies hiring, does Master’s degree and Certificate matters a lot?

I would appreciate any insights!

If you want to be in the hardware space, a UX certificate is another bullet point on your resume which truthfully as a hiring manager shows me you might have interest in a field, but if you can’t demonstrate using that skill in your field, it does not mean much.

I take masters candidates more seriously, and also hold their portfolios to a higher standard than I would a Bachelors candidate. That is still a bit hard (since most BA candidates have ~3 years of design focused studies and graduate students only have 2).

The reality is I don’t expect either for a new grad hire. If you have a good portfolio and I’m hiring for a new grad position, that floats to the top of my list before I ever read your CV.

The supplemental UX certificate or degree has to accentuate or complement the ID work. It needs to make sense, based on what is seen in the portfolio. I applaud the goog’s intentions with the certificate program but wonder how cookie-cutter it will be with the coursework. My entire intention with entering graduate studies was to reflect upon and improve core industrial design experience and have managed somewhat to select courses and projects that are tangentially complementary IMO.