Best Masters of ID Program

Hi,
I am looking to get some feedback on Master’s programs. I am applying to Pratt, RISD, SCAD, ACC and CCA. My number one priority is graduating well positioned to enter the work force and I would like a job at a competitive and cutting edge company such as Nike, Apple, Microsoft, Google, top design firm, etc (I am interested in wearable tech)… I am just looking of some feedback on these programs, any personal advice or experience would be helpful! Right now I am learning towards ACC and SCAD. I liked SCAD’s business-oriented program design (not just theory), and low cost of living there is helpful, but I worry about the job opportunities not being up to par with the other programs. ACC I also like as they too are very business-oriented and it is a very competitive program. Thank you!

Do you want job as a designer? What is your undergrad in?

Hi Mike,

My background is in commercial design (BA Architecture) and I have also developed 2 soft good products over the past 5 years, so I do have some product design experience from concept through the manufacturing stages. I am interested in a job a designer first and foremost, although I do also have interest in strategy as well.

Kand11,

I’m not sure if pursuing a masters program will benefit you as far as job positioning unless your trying to teach. If you want to graduate well positioned to work at top firms, highly suggest you bust some serious ass in your skill set at the very least! Your own ambition will dictate how well you do period. I graduated from SCAD and I can give you my perspective on the pros and cons of the ID program and area.