Minor in...?

I’m a 2nd year ID student and because of some nice transfer credits from AP courses and high school classes, I have some wiggle room in my schedual. I’m planning ahead for the next few years trying to figure out how to use this time in the most judicious and exciting way. I’ve been thinking that I’d like to take a minor, but I haven’t nailed down what I want to minor in! My school (Philadelphia University) is known for their Textile Design and Textile Engineering programs and that is something I’m interested in, but I’m not sure it would benefit my career in the long run. I could also go for a Graphic Design major which may be more useful for learning to communicate my ideas in a compelling way. There are plenty of other options and even the ability to make a “custom” minor out of a set of classes in one major. I’m just not sure how to decide what will be the most worth while in the long run!

Thanks for the feedback.

Graphic design would be very useful as a lot of design work blends the discipline of ID and GD with interaction design and user experience design.

But what interests you?

I agree that the biggest question is what interests you. ID can be taken many different directions and for each one there’s probably a minor that could help.