Choosing between CSU Long Beach vs Art Institute- OC

So i was wondering what the difference between the education of CSU Long Beach and the Art Institute Orange County when it comes to industrial design. I really want to go to art institute because I am more of a beginner and I really want a good foundation. I was wondering if CSU Long Beach will give me the same background. The other reason is CSU long beach requires a portfolio so I suspect they are a good school. I am currently a freshman in junior college right now so I have time to learn. The problem I have is my community college does not have in depth classes in design so i am currently stuck with teaching myself with books and youtube videos. I really need help in making my decision. I also have San Jose State University and San Francisco State university in my mind. Leaning towards sate school because my dad’s military benefits pay for my tuition as long as I stay in state and its a public school. ( I know art institutes are private). I really can use your guy’s expertise and knowledge with this. Thanks!!

Long Beach is a well respected program with a good network of Alumni. Also you only want to go to schools with a portfolio review. Those with open enrollment and for profit structures can be sometimes more about tuition than education.

Yah thats what I was thinking thanks for your input yo.

CSULB grad here. It’s changed a lot but still a good option to consider. From those two schools CSULB has better portfolios. Not familiar with Art Institute’s curriculum but CSULB should still have beginning/foundation classes before applying for the program. Plan to spend 2 years taking foundation and GE courses before applying to be a junior in the program. In other words, you don’t have to submit a portfolio before taking foundation courses. Those foundation courses help to build your portfolio.